Royce Da 5'9" Wraps New Solo LP, Preps Slaughterhouse Onslaught

Royce Da 5'9' Wraps New Solo LP, Preps Slaughterhouse Onslaught
Royce Da 5'9" may have just recently released the acclaimed Bad Meets Evil EP, Hell: The Sequel, with Eminem, but Detroit's prolific, pugilistic MC shows no signs of resting on the laurels of that super-duo project.

"I just finished my album, Success Is Certain; it's my last independent album as a solo artist," says Royce, who has yet to discuss signing with Shady Records as a solo act, in an Exclaim! interview. "We haven't really talked about it; I know I'll be a free agent."

Success, which is due out August 9, is a sort-of follow-up to Royce's critically acclaimed 2004 album, Death Is Certain. The solo release will be the first since 2010's Street Hop, which saw DJ Premier serving as executive producer. Premier returns to produce the first single off Success, "Second Place."

But that's not all. Don't forget about Slaughterhouse -- the supergroup composed of lyricists Joell Ortiz, Joe Budden, Crooked I and Royce -- that has inked to Shady. Though no release date is set in stone for that project, Royce has a personal goal to get in on shelves by the end of 2011.

"We have a creative meeting next week to figure out if the guys are gonna come here [to Detroit] or if we're all gonna fly somewhere and meet up. I figure we might need a couple more trips, so that's a priority," explains Royce, who stresses the greatness of the material recorded thus far. "The Slaughterhouse album is what I'm focused on. I haven't thought about my next solo album, because once we finish this Slaughterhouse album, we're gonna do a lot of touring and promoting."

In the meantime, Hell: The Sequel is out now on Shady Records/Interscope, and you can see the cover to Success above, while the tracklist is below.

Success Is Certain:

1. "Legendary" (ft. Travis Barker)
2. "Writers Block" (ft. Eminem)
3. "Merry Go Round"
4. "Where My Money"
5. "ER" (ft. Kid Vishis)
6. "On The Boulevard" (ft. Nottz & Adonis)
7. "I Ain't Coming Down"
8. "Security"
9. "Second Place"
10. "My Own Planet" (ft. Joe Budden)
11. "I've Been Up I've Been Down"