Mirah Returns with 'Changing Light' Album

Mirah Returns with 'Changing Light' Album
Long-running indie performer Mirah has taken a five-year break from solo work, instead focusing on her collaborative project with singer-songwriter Thao. Now, she's returned to making music on her own and announced a new album.

The new release is called Changing Light, and features guest appearances from Deerhoof's Greg Saunier, Mount Moriah's Heather McEntire, Mary Timon, Emily Wells and Jherek Bischoff, who provided string arrangements.

The album was recorded in various locations, with production duties split between Eli Crews and Christopher Doulgeris.

As for the album's theme, Mirah described it in a press release. "It's a break-up record," she said. "It has some moments of darkness, some twists and turns, but ultimately, there's a resolution."

Changing Light will be available on April 8 via Mirah's own new record label Absolute Magnitude. Album track "Oxen Hope" can be streamed below.

Changing Light:

01. Goat Shepherd
02. Oxen Hope
03. Turned the Heat Off
04. Gold Rush
05. Fleetfoot Ghost
06. I Am the Garden
07. No Direction Home
08. 24th St
09. LC
10. Radiomind