Liars Announce New Album 'The Apple Drop'

Watch a video for the record's "Sekwar"
Liars Announce New Album 'The Apple Drop'
Liars are coming back with a new album. Today Angus Andrew has announced the latest from the long-running project, revealing the record will be called The Apple Drop. For an idea of what to expect, you can check out the newly shared video for the album track "Sekwar."

The Apple Drop is out on August 6 via Mute. It marks the 10th album from Liars, and while the last two Liars records — 2017's TFCF and 2018's Titles with the Word Fountain — were basically solo efforts, this one has Andrew collaborating again.

"My goal was to create beyond my abilities — something bigger than myself," Andrew said in a statement.

As such, The Apple Drop finds Andrew working alongside avant-garde jazz drummer Laurence Pike, multi-instrumentalist Cameron Deyell and lyricist Mary Pearson Andrew.

As Angus Andrew stated, "For the first time I embraced collaboration from an early stage, allowing the work of others to influence the work of my own."

He went on to say: "Throughout Liars' history I have consistently tried to develop new methods of creating music. On each project I've essentially abandoned previous methods and attempted to instead learn different ways of writing and producing songs. Where once I perceived this journey as a straight line, I'm increasingly realizing my trajectory is more akin to a spiral. As new ideas are generated, older ones take on new meaning and evolve further."

Right now, watch the video for "Sekwar," directed by Clemens Habicht, below.

The Apple Drop:

1. The Start
2. Slow and Turn Inward
3. Sekwar
4. Big Appetite
5. From What the Never Was
6. Star Search
7. My Pulse to Ponder
8. Leisure War
9. King of the Crooks
10. Acid Crop
11. New Planets New Undoings

Pre-order The Apple Drop.