Alice in Chains Detail 'Rainier Fog' LP

Hear new song "So Far Under" now
Alice in Chains Detail 'Rainier Fog' LP
After sharing new track "The One You Know" back in May, Alice in Chains have lifted the curtain on their first studio album in five years.

Titled Rainier Fog, the 10-track release arrives August 24 through BMG. It follows the band's 2013 release The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here.

Rainier Fog takes its title from Mount Rainier, located in the group's home state of Washington. The album was produced by Nick Raskulinecz and was mixed by Joe Barresi.

Alongside the announcement, Alice in Chains have shared second single "So Far Under," which you can hear below. The band's vocalist/guitarist William DuVall expanded on the song's genesis in a statement:

It's about feeling completely up against it — outnumbered, surrounded, facing seemingly unbeatable odds and being really pissed off about it. It was inspired by personal circumstances, as well as events in the wider world. But it's not as resigned to defeat as it may seem. The lyric is a cold, hard assessment of a difficult situation but the music has a message all its own. There's still room to flip the script. Every aspect of writing and recording this song will always be remembered with a lot of joy — from recording the basic tracks and the guitar solo at Studio X in Seattle to doing further overdubs at Nick Raskulinecz's studio in rural Tennessee. Everyone in the band and our studio team really stepped up and knocked it out of the park on this one. We're extremely proud of this song and the entire album.

Alice in Chains are set to kick off a North American tour this coming August. You can find a complete itinerary here.

Rainier Fog:

1. The One You Know
2. Rainier Fog
3. Red Giant
4. Fly
5. Drone
6. Deaf Ears Blind Eyes
7. Maybe
8. So Far Under
9. Never Fade
10. All I Am