Sharon Jones Gets in the Christmas Spirit with 'It's a Holiday Soul Party'

Sharon Jones Gets in the Christmas Spirit with 'It's a Holiday Soul Party'
We're months away from the official start of the Christmas season, but we can look forward to a new yuletide platter from Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings to help us through the winter rush. Their It's a Holiday Soul Party will help spruce things up October 30 via Daptone.

While this is Jones's first holiday-themed album, she and the Dap-Kings are no strangers to the Christmas circuit. They issued the "Ain't No Chimneys in the Projects" single in 2009, put out a 7-inch featuring "Just Another Christmas Song" in 2014, and delivered a video for a revamped "White Christmas" last year as well. Those tracks are included on the 11-song It's a Holiday Soul Party.

The rest of the record is filled with a mix of originals like "Big Bulbs," time-honoured carols like "Silent Night," and comparatively contemporary numbers like "Silver Bells." You'll find the full tracklisting for the record down below.

Up above, you'll find the cover art, which demonstrates how Jones and the Dap-Kings choose to party in snazzier duds than your intentionally ugly, reindeer-and-bobble-adorned sweaters.

While seasonally themed, It's a Holiday Soul Party is also the first full-length from Jones and co. since her 2014 release, Give the People What They Want.

In related news, it was revealed earlier this week that filmmaker Barbara Kopple's Miss Sharon Jones!, which takes a look at Jones' very public battle with cancer in 2013 and her return to the stage, will be premiered during this fall's TIFF. The film will screen in Toronto on September 11.

It's a Holiday Soul Party:

1. 8 Days (Of Hanukkah)
2. Ain't No Chimneys In The Projects
3. White Christmas
4. Just Another Christmas Song
5. Silent Night
6. Big Bulbs
7. Please Come Home For Christmas
8. Funky Little Drummer Boy
9. Silver Bells
10. World Of Love
11. God Rest Ye Merry Gents