Foam Lake Harness 'Force and Matter' on Debut LP

Foam Lake Harness 'Force and Matter' on Debut LP
We first caught wind of Foam Lake when the Saskatoon rockers supported Shuyler Jansen as his live backing band. Now, the group are going their own way as they gear up to release their debut LP, Force and Matter, on November 15.

The band is comprised of the four Ross brothers: frontman Paul, bassist Barrett, drummer Tyler, and synth-whiz/guitarist Kalen. A press release describes their sound as "infectiously catchy rock n' roll laden with synth textures, dynamic rhythms, contemplative lyricism and luscious guitars."

Force and Matter was mixed by Dave Carswell of the celebrated Vancouver production team JC/DC (The New Pornographers, Destroyer), who previously produced collaborator Jansen's Voice from the Lake. This new album reportedly "swings from absolute thunder to quiet whisper at the drop of a hat." In addition to delving into "brave new sonic territory," the band's influences include Neil Young, Ramones, My Bloody Valentine, and the Smiths.

The synth-spiked album cut "Die Fighting" is streaming at the band's website.

Force and Matter:

1. "True Hearts"
2. "Force and Matter"
3. "Die Fighting"
4. "Too Late"
5. "Baggage"
6. "Uninvited"
7. "Hemorrhagic Kills"
8. "Black Hole"
9. "Last Chance"