Faith No More Treat 'We Care a Lot' to Expanded Reissue

Faith No More Treat 'We Care a Lot' to Expanded Reissue
While 2015 saw the reunited Faith No More focusing on their then-new Sol Invictus release, the thoughtful alt-metal purveyors will next be treating the masses to a touched-up reissue of their very first album, We Care a Lot.

A press release confirms that the crew will deliver a remastered version of their 1985 studio debut on August 19, via bassist Billy Gould's Koolarrow Records. It's explained by the band member that he recently rediscovered the reels from the sessions, and that he and the rest of the group "all thought that resurrecting this from the original tapes would be a great way to reintroduce We Care a Lot into the world."

The release predates the band's time with vocalist Mike Patton, with frontman duties held down by Chuck Mosley. Recorded at San Francisco's Prairie Sun Studios, the 10-song album possessed a bizarre melding of punk, funk, metal and more.

"With We Care a Lot, I always felt like I was part of something new and different than anything else out there at the time," Mosely said in a statement. "It made me feel privileged to be a part of it. The other guys were so cool, and there was so much camaraderie. And that came across in the music; Bordin's drums battling it out with Billy's bass in antagonistic harmony, Roddy's melodic atmosphere, swallowed up by Jim's crunchy metal riffs. I found my place somewhere between them all, and when the album was finished, it didn't sound like anything else."

In addition to the original LP, remastered by Maor Appelbaum, the updated We Care a Lot features 8-track demos of songs including "Greed," "Mark Bowen" and "Arabian Disco." The release also features live cuts captured at San Francisco's I-Beam venue in 1986 and a few alternate mixes.

You'll find the full breakdown below.

Mosley would also be a part of Faith No More's Introduce Yourself from 1987, but would soon be replaced by a then-teenaged Patton. The band would next deliver mainstream breakthrough The Real Thing, steered by rap-rock crossover hit "Epic," in 1989.

We Care a Lot - Deluxe Band Edition:

1. We Care a Lot
2. The Jungle
3. Mark Bowen
4. Jim
5. Why Do You Bother
6. Greed
7. Pills for Breakfast
8. As The Worm Turns
9. Arabian Disco
10. New Beginnings
11. We Care A Lot – 2016 Mix
12. Pills for Breakfast – 2016 Mix
13. As The Worm Turns – 2016 Mix
14. Greed – Original Demo
15. Mark Bowen – Original Demo
16. Arabian Disco – Original Demo
17. Intro – Original Demo
18. The Jungle – I-Beam, SF, 1986
19. New Beginnings – I-Beam, SF, 1986