Cattle Decapitation Return with New Album 'Monolith of Inhumanity'

Cattle Decapitation Return with New Album 'Monolith of Inhumanity'
San Diego gore-grind vegans Cattle Decapitation have returned after three years and are ready to release their seventh studio album Monolith of Inhumanity. The follow-up to 2009's The Harvest Floor, which Exclaim! lauded for its "grotesque vocals of Travis Ryan doing battle with obscenely cool drumming," arrives May 8 via Metal Blade.

According to a press release, Monolith of Inhumanity is Cattle Decapitation's "most palatable, yet abrasive record yet" and was tracked by Dave Otero, marking the group's first time working with the producer and resulted in the band accomplishing "what they have longed to do for an album." The album's artwork (see above) was once again handled by Wes Benscoter, whose "unearthly abilities fused with Travis Ryan's demented view."

Maintaining their trademark sound, Monolith of Inhumanity is said to feature "frenzied guitar playing, machine gun intensity drumming, bowel movement inducing vocals, and of course self loathing lyrical content," with obscene song titles like "Projectile Ovulation," "Forced Gender Re-Assignment" and "Gristle Licker."

You can check out the first new song off the album, "A Living, Breathing Piece of Defecating Meat" below, which is sonically as disgusting as the title suggests.

Pre-order bundles of Monolith of Inhumanity are available through Metal Blade here.

Monolith of Inhumanity:

1. The Carbon Stampede
2. Dead Set On Suicide
3. A Living, Breathing Piece of Defecating Meat
4. Forced Gender Reassignment
5. Gristle Licker
6. Projectile Ovulation
7. Lifestalker
8. Do Not Resuscitate
9. Your Disposal
10. The Monolith
11. Kingdom of Tyrants